Plastic Bag Made From Plastic Bags

I don’t usually pick up plastic shopping bags, but I do get a lot of big plastic bags pushed through my letterbox by charitable organisations, which want me to fill them with goodies & put them out for collection. I just don’t have that much stuff to give away. So, being a frugal sort of person, I stash them away. And now I have a reason for doing so. Because I can make new (and improved) shopping bags from those old plastic bags. One can also use ordinary shopping bags, of course.

First of all, you need to cut your plastic bags up into ‘plarn’ (plastic yarn). Here’s a helpful YouTube tutorial that tells you how.

Then you pick a really big crochet hook (6, 7 or 8) & begin crocheting.

IMG_0238IMG_4999

Then I thought it would be a cool idea to add a stripe made from old cassette tape. You need to double the tape, otherwise it’ll rip.

IMG_5002

As you can see from the shape of the finished bag, I included the sides in the main body of the bag, as well as the bottom, which was mainly made with orange plastic bags.

IMG_5004

And then I sewed it all together…

IMG_0257

… added some handles…

IMG_5005

And – finished!

IMG_0259IMG_0260

One word of warning: crocheting stretches a lot, so you may want to make the handles fairly short to begin with.

About alycevr

Academic, translator & maker of things
This entry was posted in Crafts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

