1940s embroidery: my gran’s tablecloth

When I went back to Germany over the summer, I took my quilt with me that I was in the process of piecing together. My mum and I chatted about crafts and about making things and she suddenly showed me a tablecloth her mother had embroidered. It’s a beautiful little gem of original 1940s work:

photo 1-6

My gran’s tablecloth.

 

After all these years the colours are still fresh and the design timeless.

 

photo 2-7

It is perhaps not the most difficult piece you’ve ever seen, but it is utterly charming nonetheless. Pity that it is languishing  in a cupboard, but then despite having what I think of as a timeless design, it does not fit in with my mum’s rather more modern tastes. Maybe such things need to jump a generation to become fashionable again. My gran’s interest in craft certainly did: my mum is not remotely interested in craft unless it is to admire others’ work. But she taught me to crochet, to knit and to sew when I was a kid, and I’m thankful for that.

photo 3-6

photo 4-6

About alycevr

Academic, translator & maker of things
This entry was posted in Crafts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

