Babyquilt

It was a lengthy birth, but now it is here: my new baby quilt. Or rather, not ‘my’ quilt: it belongs to a friend and her new-born son. It was such a fabulous excuse to do some English Paper Piecing and make another fairly small quilt, where the quilting isn’t as daunting as something that’s meant to go on a double bed.

My friend gave me two types of fabric and a very sweet fabric to use for the back of the quilt. And then we bought some more. I gave her a couple of options and she settled for a hexagon & triangle pattern. The first few pieces looked like this.

photo 1

 

 

 

 

 

Luckily this wasn’t an especially big quilt, because laying it out to determine the pattern would have been a bit of a challenge…

photo 2

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Don’t you just love it when things begin to come together…

photo 3

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Proof that the quilt is nice & cwtshy: As soon as I started sewing the bias binding to the quilt, a cat ploppped down on the quilt…

photo 5-1

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

… and then another…

photo 4-7

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And here it is, in all its glory. I added an embroidery stitch to the border, which made for a nice effect. One of these days I’ll have to learn proper free-motion quilting, but I didn’t want to ruin this one with my first attempt… It’s not as easy as it looks on the video tutorials on YouTube!

photo 4

photo 3-1

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

photo-15

I’ve even managed to get the sine qua non of the modern crafter – my own label!

 

I’m quite proud of my effort. The colours are nice, bright and friendly, and the quilt is cute, but not soppy-cute. Next time I must try something a bit bigger and really go to town on the colours/shapes…

 

 

 

 

 

About alycevr

Academic, translator & maker of things
This entry was posted in Crafts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Babyquilt

  1. Pingback: Another baby quilt | Crafts and the Art of Living Well

Leave a Reply

