Baa Moo Baa-Shirt

Oh dear. How did that happen? I swear my shirt came before this wonderful, heart-warming photoshoot with our dear leader, which completely coincidentally took place during the General Election campaign of 2015: http://www.huffingtonpost.co.uk/2015/04/05/david-cameron-baby-sheep-pictures_n_7006538.html. But I’m sure these photos confirm that farm animals are in. At least in my wardrobe.

So, I bought this Baa Baa sheep fabric to try out making a t-shirt from the Schnittreif t-shirt dress pattern (see the post on my Marvellous Moo shirt). I wanted to make what’s called a ‘toile’, meaning a garment in which I try the pattern out, so that I can tweak it, & just in case it doesn’t work out. Ruining a cheap fabric is not as bad as ruining some very nice fabric. My aim: to arrive at a t-shirt template I can use over and over again. And because I could, I used some last scraps of my Moo-shirt fabric.

And the result? It fits and it’s kinda cute.

photo 1photo 4photo 2

I tried out a new type of pocket. I made it analogous to a puffy sleeves – the idea being that they don’t lie flat on whatever they’re sewn on but stick out slightly. It kind of worked, but I need to work on my seams. All in all I’m so pleased with this shirt that I’ll probably wear it – although I’m not sure if the world is ready for my farmyard animal-collection. 🙂

But more to the point, I realised where to amend my pattern & now I’ll be surfing for some great t-shirt fabrics. The summer can come – I’m ready!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About alycevr

Academic, translator & maker of things
This entry was posted in Crafts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

