Pleated trousers? Moi?

I don’t know if it’s the same with you, but there are some fashion items that I loathed as a teenager and which I’ve never been able to look at since. Pleated trousers, especially those of the dreaded 7/8 length variety, still cause shudders in me. You know the kind of thing I’m talking about, don’t you? …

32e11ca1e5d05dfdd79ba54a1c7afd0b

 

That’s what I mean…

 

 

 

image1xxl

… or that….

 

 

 

 

Ugh. I’m shuddering so much, I can hardly type. So, how odd is it that I choose – of my own free will – to spend money and time to make a front-pleated pair of sweatpants? Well, because they look dead cool, that’s why. And before you accuse me of contradicting myself, let me show you the new(ish) Pattydoo pattern ‘Jenna’  (together with German-language video tutorial). This pattern unites the comfort of the traditional sweatpants with the rather more swish cut of the pleated trousers. They are roomy at the top & tighter at the legs. And they’ve got cuffs, too.

Screen Shot 2015-11-06 at 11.09.05

Copyright Pattydoo

Mine look slightly different. For one, I’m never one to say no to a nice skull motif on a fabric… I also found the legs slightly too short for me, so ended up with largeish cuffs at the bottom.

IMG_5623

Also, they are slightly tighter than the one’s worn in the ‘official’ picture above. Next time, I probably need to sew them one size up. But they fit fine & are the most comfortable pants ever. I’m already looking for more fabric for my next pair.

IMG_5636

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Postscript December 2015:

And there they are: I love the animal ‘camouflage’ fabric – it works really well with this pattern. Here with added cat…

IMG_0212IMG_0208

And another pair for lounging about in the house. It’s made with a fabric that’s half sweatshirt fabric, half fleece. It’s veeeery cuddly & comfy…

IMG_0116

I may possibly have made enough sweatpants now…

 

 

About alycevr

Academic, translator & maker of things
This entry was posted in Crafts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

