Doggy togs

A few months ago, a friend of mine handed me a sewing pattern for a onesie for a dog. She’s got lots of small dogs, whom it kind of makes sense to dress up: a) it is cute as hell & b) some of them are Chinese Crested dogs, who do need an extra layer, particularly when it’s cold outside.

Screen Shot 2016-01-08 at 11.53.21The Simplicity pattern can be bought from a variety of outlets. It is available for several sizes of dogs, although I think it’s probably best suited to small dogs.

The picture on the pattern suggests that a fleece fabric was used. I’m not sure if that actually works very well, unless the fabric stretches a bit. The onesie is quite snug and the pattern relies on you using stretchy fabrics – otherwise you probably have to lever your dog in with a shoe horn.

After my Christmas sewing bonanza, I had a few scraps left over and decided to give the pattern a go. It is a breeze to sew.

IMG_0244

First I copied the correct size on my pattern paper. Then I cut out the fabric and, following the simple instructions, sewed the whole thing together with my overlocker. Only a couple of seams were done with my regular sewing machine.

And here it is.

FullSizeRender

I decided to try it out on Deri. Doesn’t he look heartbreakingly cute? It also doesn’t really fit him – it’s much too snug around his front (the sleeves shouldn’t stretch like that) and it’s a bit baggy around his hind quarters. And since he isn’t used to wearing doggy togs, he was quite relieved when I took the thing off him again.

IMG_0276

And here’s Titus wearing it, the dog for whom I made the onesie in the first place.

IMG_0344IMG_0346

Titus is a Chinese Crested/Chihuahua cross and is quite a bit slighter than Deri, while also being slightly taller. The onesie fits him perfectly! Doesn’t he look adorable? I’ll certainly revisit the pattern when I’ve got more scraps…

About alycevr

Academic, translator & maker of things
This entry was posted in Crafts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Doggy togs

  1. Pingback: Dressed for success! | Alyce macht Sachen

  2. Pingback: What every doggy needs… | Alyce macht Sachen

Leave a Reply

