Penguins!

Well… Just look at that…

Screen Shot 2016-01-08 at 11.19.07

Who can resist a penguin?

Screen Shot 2016-01-08 at 11.19.17

I certainly can’t…

Screen Shot 2016-01-08 at 11.19.37

And so when I came cross this digital print jersey fabric, it simply had to be bought:

Screen Shot 2016-01-08 at 11.22.09

Bought online from Stofftankstelle.de

But what would I make with it? Gorgeous as it is, I thought it might just be a tad overwhelming as a longsleeve shirt, for instance. It didn’t take very long for an idea to take hold: I would make a skater dress with the penguins as the bodice and a blue jersey fabric to go with it.

The dress is called Ella, another inspired Pattydoo creation, and it is dead easy to sew.

Ella I’d already made another Ella with fabric I got in the Sale – just in case the pattern didn’t suit me. It became a new favourite despite myself: I don’t normally wear dresses. But this is a simple, yet effective design, which works well with my build.

 

 

Now, just add penguins:

IMG_0334IMG_0328

FullSizeRender

It fits just like the previous Ella and I just love love love my penguins. I even made a beanie hat out of some of the fabric I had left over.

pingubean The beanie is – for once – not a Pattydoo pattern but a freebook by Hummelhonig called Biene. Im not sure if the two will ever be worn together, but I’m certainly kitted out with penguins now!

… and who can resist a penguin?

About alycevr

Academic, translator & maker of things
This entry was posted in Crafts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

