Supersize me

Since the non-summer of 2015, I’ve been living in my leggings. I hardly want to wear anything else. And so I’m always on the lookout for big, baggy t-shirts that I can wear with my leggings. Big, baggy t-shirts that actually look good, that is…

When Pattydoo produced a pattern for an oversize t-shirt, I was intrigued. Intrigued but not wholly convinced. The shirt is wide at the top, but has fairly narrow sleeves. It also has no waist and is quite narrow around the bottom. I.e. it is almost completely different to all other shirts I’ve previously made (tighter around the top, shaped waist, flared out at the bottom).

In the Pattydoo designer, it looks something like this:

Screen Shot 2016-01-08 at 10.59.03

You can see why I wasn’t convinced. It just looks too much like a nightie at a first glance. But I thought, heck, give it ago. If it doesn’t work, you can use the thing to wear at home or in bed…

The sewing is pretty straightforward. The only moderately tricksy element is the v-neck, but there is a video tutorial, which explains how sew it.

And I must say: once I put it on, I didn’t want to take it off again…

IMG_0156

It does look slightly odd if you’re used to tight tops, but if, like me, you’ve survived the 1980s, the vaguely bat-like design seems oddly familiar and the sheer comfyness factor of the shirt just beats everything.

FullSizeRender

And the best thing: it does go very well with my beloved leggings. I’m surprised at how much I like it, given my initial scepticism – but it’s a nice sort of a surprise…

Postscript:

And I’ve made another one…

  

About alycevr

Academic, translator & maker of things
This entry was posted in Crafts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Supersize me

  1. Bobbie says:

    Wow! Love that top.

  2. Pingback: What goes around… | Alyce macht Sachen

Leave a Reply

