Funky Skulls are my Bag

It has probably become obvious that I’m a bit of a Pattydoo fan. The patterns look great, fit me well, and the video tutorials have taught me an awful lot about sewing. So when Ina from Pattydoo announced that there was going to be a book about bags, I sprang into action and ordered the book when it became available. And here it is – not available in English, unfortunately. I’m going to post a few images of the stages of making this bag, but since the pattern is copyrighted, I’m not going to add many details. You’ll just have to buy the book. 😉

Screen Shot 2016-02-04 at 11.01.23

The book includes many cute bags, but I wanted to begin by making the one depicted on the cover, the ‘Hobo-Bag’. And as a friend’s birthday was coming up, I had the perfect excuse to dig around in my stash and get to work. The fabric is fairly thin, and for the bag to not be too wobbly, one has to affix a fairly thick interlining. I didn’t have anything like that, so used two layers of medium interfacing, which did the job, too.

IMG_0479

Here’s me pinning the folds of the outer piece together. I adore this particular sugar skull-fabric, as it is crazily colourful.

IMG_0481

And here is the same step again for the inner lining.

IMG_0483

The bag includes an inserted zip, which, when opened extends the volume of the bag. It’s much easier to sew than I expected.

IMG_0485

In this step the D-rings are secured to the uppermost part of the bag, which, in turn is affixed to the main body of the bag.

IMG_0486

And now everything is sewn together.

IMG_0490

The moment of truth: turning the bag inside out.

IMG_0491

And here it is – my new best friend. Well, my friend’s new best friend.

IMG_0495

And this what it looks like with extended volume. I’m pretty sure I’m going to make this bag for myself before long. In the meantime, Ina has published a tutorial about how a zip can be inserted into this bag, which is something that I’m very likely going to do – that, and add a couple of inner pockets. I can’t wait!

About alycevr

Academic, translator & maker of things
This entry was posted in Crafts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

