Over the shoulder sheep bag

It’s the lambing season again. Cue picture of a sweet little lamb.

Screen Shot 2016-03-11 at 10.54.35

Awww. Isn’t it sweet. But I actually like sheep in all shapes and sizes. And when I found a laminated cotton fabric with lots of sheep on it, well, I had to get it.

Screen Shot 2016-03-11 at 10.56.51

I already posted the first bags I made from this fabric (here). Now I found myself with a left-over strip of fabric & gradually an idea began to form. I was going to make myself a cross between a hand-bag and a messenger bag, mainly because I dislike handbags and messenger bags are just too large sometimes. The waterproof fabric is great if you live in a rainy place like I do…

And here it is.

FullSizeRender_3

I made up my own pattern for this bag. The body of the bag is based on Pattydoo’s Wendy bag. The difference is that I wanted the top to fold over and be attached by a fastener, so making the bag almost completely waterproof. That’s the theory anyway…. The basic shape is shown in this video tutorial for a bum bag.

In order for the bag to fold over nicely without the lower bit showing, I shaped the fabric slightly by adding a semi-circular curve outwards on the top and cutting out a smaller semi-circular curve on the inside. I also figured that the bag flap, such as it is, would look a lot neater if the fastener were attached to a curve. (I realised this when recently making the skulls purse.) Folded webbing with D-rings are attached at the side of the bag, just where it folds over, and the bag strap is attached to that.

FullSizeRender_1

The bag has an inside pocket for pens and mobile, as well as a zippered pocket that is accessible from the outside (video tutorial here). In this way, I can have my keys handy & don’t have to spend ages routing around the bag to find them.

FullSizeRender_2

Overall, I’m very pleased that my design, such as it is, has worked so well. Let’s see how the bag will survive its first rain shower…

Baaaaah!
Screen Shot 2016-03-11 at 11.23.30

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The only difficulty with this pattern is that it is directional. Meaning that, if I’d cut it from one piece, the sheep would have been the right way round on the one side of the bag and stood on their heads on the other,

About alycevr

Academic, translator & maker of things
This entry was posted in Crafts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

