Pretty in Pink. (What?!)

Well, what comes to your mind when you think pink? The first things that come to my mind are those godawful things little girls are supposed to like…

Screen Shot 2016-03-28 at 19.00.25

… pretty, pretty pink princesses…

Screen Shot 2016-03-28 at 19.01.25

… pretty, pretty, pretty pink toys and pretty, oh so pretty pink dresses…

Well, I happen to think that this is all a bit sick-making. If there’s anything I like that’s pink it’s…

Screen Shot 2016-03-28 at 19.08.02

(Well, apart from the breast cancer awareness symbol…)

… it’s …

Screen Shot 2016-03-28 at 19.02.00

PINK PIGGIES. They are fab. Other than that, pink is awful.

Well. It isn’t actually. Pink is a pretty awesome colour. It’s just unfortunate that everything that’s aimed at little girls is coloured pink these days. I can’t even remember the last time I wore something that was pink. I must have been 13 or so…

So, I decided that the time was right to reclaim pink for normal, non-princess women. And I went all out, as you shall see.

But what to make in pink? A kick-ass hoodie, of course. The pattern is Pattydoo’s hoodie pattern Riley (not yet available in English), which I like because it is simple, yet effective. And I had some cute owl patterned fabric to add some interest.

And here’s my pink Riley:

FullSizeRender

IMG_1092This sweatshirt has also provided an exercise in how to use up very nearly all of the fabric. For some reason, I didn’t quite buy enough fabric & ended up making the bottom cuff out of three pieces of sweatshirt fabric. I don’t think anyone will notice, though.

Like most Pattydoo patterns, Riley just fits. Instead of the cord tunnel plus cord that normally goes through the hood, I added some fancy stitching.

Can’t wait to go out into the world with my new-found pink self-confidence…. 😉

About alycevr

Academic, translator & maker of things
This entry was posted in Crafts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Pretty in Pink. (What?!)

  1. Yes! Do claim pink. Grab it away from the sickeningly sweet princess stereotype and claim the power. It is a strong colour, in victorian times considered only fitting for boys because it’s so powerful. Soft, pale blue was more fitting for girls…

Leave a Reply

