Mary, Mary, quite Contrary, how’s your sewing going?

My currenty favourite designer of sewing patterns, Pattydoo, puts out new patterns at an almost alarming rate these days. And sometimes I look at a pattern and decide: no, that one is not for me. And then others make the piece & show it off in the Pattydoo Facebook groups and I still think it’s not for me. And then I waver. And consider. And at some point I give in & make it anyway.

That’s what happened with the cardigan Mary. It’s trendy, feminine and elegant. I’m none of these things, and proudly so. Why should I want to make it? And then I thought about needing decent work clothes. And about the possibility of combining this cardi with leggings. And… Reader, I caved in, bought the pattern & made my very own Mary.

This is what it looks like in the Pattydoo designer:

Screen Shot 2016-04-04 at 19.49.13

It is longer at the back, and has a lovely shawl element. It’s the opposite of a boring old cardi – but it’s also totally unlike what I’d normally choose to wear, namely a hoodie jacket like this.

To make this jacket, I restrained myself with regard to fabric choices in deference to the fact that I want to wear the cardigan at more serious work events.

FullSizeRender (2)

Btw. I’m not wearing a paper crown. It’s a lampshade. No, really…

But I had to have one bright colour in it to offset the grey base fabric. The simple, yet effective design of the red fabric appealed to me when I saw it first (on the Stofftankstelle website).

FullSizeRender (1)

As usual, the pattern fits me perfectly. The softly flowing jersey fabric make this jacket nicely flattering and the shawl is actually very comfortable. It might get a little hot in the summer. I also like the high cuffs, which in my case aren’t actually cuffs as I didn’t have enough material. I just divided the sleeves and hemmed the edges.

All in all I’m happy with my Mary, although I’m certainly not going to wear it every day. But sometimes one needs stuff for those special events…

 

About alycevr

Academic, translator & maker of things
This entry was posted in Crafts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

