What goes around…

Don’t you just love a good bit of upcycling? When I bought my overlocker, I also bought a few extra large second-hand t-shirts from a charity shop, so that I could have a play with my new toy without wrecking any nice new fabric. One of these shirts was still languishing in my stash. But at the weekend I suddenly knew what I wanted to do with it.

Like last summer, I’m probably going to spend this one living in leggings. They’re marvellous. But I don’t want to wear them with ordinary t-shirts: I’d quite like to cover my derrière. So a long shirt works fine (such as the pattern Sophie by Pattydoo, see my examples here), but what’s also great is a shirt with a bit of a ‘skirt’ to it. My first effort was also an upcyling project. My to-be-upcycled shirt was a purple polo shirt. I wanted to retain the button border and collar, but basically change everything else.

Out came the scissors…

IMG_1787

I didn’t just cut this by guess and by gosh. I do have a t-shirt pattern and a mini-skirt pattern, which came from my last upcycling project….

First of all, the brand logo had to go. I found a nice print and had a go at appliquéing it. I really enjoyed it – I’m sure there’ll be more appliqué work in future garments…

IMG_1789

I used fabric I had left over from one of my oversize shirts for the sleeves and for the skirt. The whole ensemble now looks like this:

IMG_1790

The bodice is basically the full length of the shirt, which means it goes down to my hip. Low-waisted 1920s dresses used to look like this. Not in jersey, of course.

Here’s me trying to get a decent snap in the mirror. Am being photobombed by little Deri, as per usual.

IMG_1802

It works great with my leggings, and while a shorter bodice would have flattered my shape better, this is potentially more comfy.

IMG_1809

I’ve already some new material for new leggings, which will look perfect in combination with these colours. Can’t wait to get going…

 

About alycevr

Academic, translator & maker of things
This entry was posted in Crafts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

