Small dog, big attitude

Small dog, big attitude. That’s true for my small dog, certainly. What’s also true is: small dog, big need for comfort and cwtshes. Which is where my latest project comes in: a sturdy, yet comfy dog bed for the sofa. So that said small dog can be close to his/her human – in comfort and style. Well, maybe more comfort than style. And it’s an upcycling project: no new things were used in the making of this dog bed.

There are quite a few videos on YouTube that show you how to make a dog bed. I based mine on a Sailrite video tutorial, but, as you’ll see, my dog bed is slightly different.

fullsizerender

The adventure began with some jeans that had been donated to me. I cut off the legs, cut off excess fabric and sewed them together.

fullsizerender-1

I thought that it would be fun to add some jeans pockets to the flap, as a container for TV remotes, or other random stuff. I appliquéd the pockets on using some free-motion stitchery – the edges are designed to fray.

fullsizerender-2  img_4049

I then basically made a quilt sandwich – two layers of denim and bits of a fleece blanket inside them. The measurements for this dog bed were 60cm x 85 cm. My sofa is 60cm deep, and I figured that this would be the same for most sofas. One bit of the bed is a flap that hangs down the sofa, so the second side is a little longer than the first. (It’ll make sense when you see the pictures further down).

fullsizerender-4

After that I cut off the edges of my quilt sandwich – and here the resemblance to making a quilt stops. Rather than attaching binding, I attached a tube of material, which would later be stuffed.

fullsizerender-5

First I cut off the legs of stretchy skinny jeans, then straightened them out, making them all the same width. I then sewed them together to form a long piece of fabric, and then I sewed that long bit together at the side to form a tube. In hindsight, I may skip this last step next time around and just fold the fabric (back to back) and sew it to the top of the blanket as shown here.

Next I sewed the back of the blanket and the fleece lining to the top , making sure that the two denim blankets were facing and enclosing the tube. Rather than sew all the way around, it is important here to leave a small opening, through which the whole blanket can be turned inside out.

And then the stuffing! I used fabric scraps I had lying about (I can’t throw anything away!), which made the whole bed rather heavy. This may turn out to be a good thing, as dogs can’t just drag the bed off the sofa. On the other hand, it may make it more difficult to wash and dry. Experience will tell.

fullsizerender-6

Next time round I might use polyester wadding instead, and sew the tube to the blanket as shown in the Sailrite video tutorial. My method provides a neater edge, but theirs is quicker and easier.

fullsizerender-7

Here’s the finished dog bed. I’ve still got drawing pins in it because it still needs to be quilted, so that the layers of denim and fleece stick together.

img_4070

I decided to keep this bit really simple. Given the weight of the dog bed, machine quilting wasn’t an option. Again, with hindsight, I should have quilted the blanket before adding the filler material – next time I’ll know. This time I went for a simple hand-quilted design.

img_4077

Tadaaa – and here’s my boy Deri doing his best ‘sit’ on the new blanket. (Yes, I did have a treat in my hand.)

 

 

 

 

 

And here are the Cassie and Maxi enjoying their new bed – probably also enticed on it by the promise of treats. How very cute they are. I hope they’re going to enjoy their new bed…

14925261_10153980856316931_6768130979317175749_n

About alycevr

Academic, translator & maker of things
This entry was posted in Crafts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Small dog, big attitude

  1. Pingback: When is a pair of jeans not a pair of jeans? | Alyce macht Sachen

Leave a Reply

